Editorial Team

Editor-in-chief | Zach Simpson – University of Johannesburg, South Africa

Managing Editor | Milton Milaras – University of Johannesburg, South Africa


Editorial board

Kibbie Naidoo – University of Johannesburg, South Africa
Michael Samuel – University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Vivienne Bozalek – University of the Western Cape, South Africa
Denise Newfield – University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa
Rhonda Breit – Aga Khan University, Kenya
Carolina Guzmán-Valenzuela – Universidad de Tarapacá, Chile
Dennis Banda – University of Zambia, Zambia
Peter Looker – Nangyang Technological University, Singapore
Kooi Cheng Lee – National University of Singapore, Singapore
Meegan Hall – Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand [reflective piece editor]
Ismail Hussein Amzat – University of Utara, Malaysia
Sergio Celis – University of Chile, Chile [book review editor]
Catherine Manathunga – University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia
Caroline Suransky - University for Humanistic Studies, The Netherlands
Shireen Motala - University of Johannesburg, South Africa


In memoriam: 

The inimitable force behind both this journal and the inaugural 2017 SOTL in the South conference was our late editor-in-chief, Professor Brenda Leibowitz. Sadly, Brenda passed away on April 26, 2018. Brenda was a force for good in higher education, and in her work, she sought out a higher education space that was more caring of its participants: students and teachers alike. Her efforts were aimed at supporting academics – particularly young academics – to engage in scholarly teaching practice. Brenda was a friend, colleague, supervisor and mentor to all of us involved in SOTL in the South, and to many others, and we will miss her warmth and dynamism.